Artist Profile: Erica Schlueter

Even though I’ve been a knitter for years, I continue to marvel at how those detailed directions on the page become beautiful designs just by using “sticks and string!” How does a designer DO it? Accomplished knitwear designer Erica Schlueter returns to Fiber College this year and we’re glad she’s back. Erica has had several patterns printed in Interweave and SoHo Publishing magazines and books (Interweave Knits, Knitscene, Vogue Knitting Knit Simple to name a few). Several of her designs were also published in Classic Elite Yarns pattern booklets. Erica has been teaching knitting for over 10 years. In the Fall of 2015 she taught at Haystack Mountain School of Crafts Open Door program. A wide array of her gorgeous patterns can be found here on Ravelry.

Erica will teach a class at Fiber College on Saturday morning, September 9 from 9-11AM. In her Tuck Scarf or Cowl class, students can choose which pattern they’d like to start. Let’s meet Erica and then you can sign up for her class here.

Here is the Tuck Scarf for Erica’s class at Fiber College. Students can choose between this and the cowl.

This year, Fiber College’s theme is Re-use, Re-design, Re-create. How do you incorporate any part of this theme into an important part of your life?

Most of what I own was previously owned.

A sweater created by Erica Schlueter.

What is your favorite thing about Fiber College?

I have two equally favorite things: the wide variety of workshops offered and its location. All attendees shouldn’t miss spending time, with or without a project, down by the water.

Erica will teach her Tuck Scarf or Cowl on Saturday morning at Fiber College.

What’s the best piece of advice a mentor has ever given to you?

What is your plan B?

Erica’s self-portrait.

Tell us about a time that you developed an exciting idea for your fiber art: where did the idea come from?

I have been knitting a cable sweater for myself for over 3 years (I do not have a lot of time to knit for myself) since I do not have to write the pattern for this sweater I have two cable sections where I am making up the cables as I go.

Erica WIP (work in progress) that she designs as she goes.

If you could redesign your life as a fiber artist, what would it look like?

I would get paid a living wage, like any other professional, for knitting and so would all professional knitters.

One of many dozens of designs by Erica

What or who has the greatest impact on your work as a fiber artist?

I don’t think it is any one thing or person…it’s a collection of life experiences.

Erica and her tools of the trade.

If you could go back in time, what might you change about your fiber journey?

I used to think I made the wrong choice of which college I went to, but had I not made the choice I did make, I would not be where I am now. Where I am now is where I want to be.

A double-knit scarf designed and knit by Erica Schlueter.

What is the most important thing you want potential students to know about you?

I spend as little time as possible on the Internet. I would rather be knitting and/or doing something outdoors in my spare time. If you would like to see what I have designed and knit for knitting publications, my designs can be seen here on Ravelry. (Ed. note: Nearly 4 dozen patterns!)

Erica did a recent interview for Interweave and it can be found here. Now that you’ve learned more about Erica, be sure to sign up for her Saturday morning (Sept 9, 9-11 AM) Fiber College class, Tuck Scarf or Cowl here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

