Artist Profile: Amy Lou Stein

Amy Lou Stein’s fiber life includes community every step of the way. She can style a wardrobe for a rock band or her own family, make vibrant colors with a class at the dyepots, and help others to make endearing creatures and objects of all kinds with loops on a stick (crochet). Amy Lou returns to Fiber College this year to teach a Friday class Amigurumi, where her students will learn the basics of this imaginative fiber art that is sure to delight! Let’s meet Amy Lou.

Who are you? Tell us about your fiber journey.
Hi, my name is Amy Lou Stein and I love all forms of making.  My mom had a sewing room, a giant loom, and was always crocheting when I was a kid.  When I moved from Detroit to Los Angeles my friend Leigh and I started a styling/wardrobe company called OZMA.  We would spend all of our downtime on set crocheting…which of course led to a desire and need for beautiful fiber!  I am currently working on opening a community space for making in Somerville, MA.

Stein's crocheted Saranya Cowl is available on Ravelry.

Stein’s crocheted Saranya Cowl is available on Ravelry.

 

Stein’s Saranya Cowl is available on Ravelry.

What’s integral to your work as an artist?
As a maker I have to always have many projects and ideas to work with, but the most important part of making for me is a creative community and being around other people to share and make with.

Amy Lou offers Amigurumi (Crocheted Animals) on Friday (9-1).

Amy Lou offers Amigurumi (Crocheted Animals) at FC on Friday (9-1).

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever given a student?
My students have all been so wonderful and, as with anything new, my message is to always have fun, relax and it will happen…we are just making loops with a stick.

Crochet rocks!

Crochet rocks!

What’s your favorite piece of work that you’ve created?
My favorite thing I have made was for a botanical printing class. I wrapped silk bound with peony & eucalyptus tightly around stick and steamed them with black walnuts on and off for 3 weeks.

Stein_dyeing

Amy Lou’s botanical print

I have to say for crochet I love my hippo.

A happy hippo -- crocheted

A happy hippo — crocheted

What is your most important artist tool? Is there something you can’t live without in your studio?
My most important artist tools are my hands. They can crochet, dye, and knit, all without any other tools!  I do love my Willette hand carved crochet hook that I bought at Rhinebeck last year!

What would your FC students be surprised to know about you?
It still surprises me that I used to work in Hollywood playing dress up!  My day job was designing, renting, buying and thrifting clothing for rock bands.  I still can’t believe I got paid for that!

Amy Lou's dog, Kitty

Amy Lou’s dog, Kitty

How do you manage/balance your work self and your creative self?
I still haven’t worked out managing my work self and creative self.  I have two kids and they can be, for lack of a better word, distracting!

Cosmo loves his Granny Square blanket

Cosmo loves his Granny Square blanket

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
Best piece of advice I have ever been given (and I still am given) is to keep making always and every day!

Amy Lou made this bunny hat with her homespun using both knit and crochet

Amy Lou made this bunny hat with her homespun using both knit and crochet

What inspired you to become a fiber artist?
I just can’t keep my greedy little mitts off of any fabric, yarn or fiber that I see 🙂

You can learn more about me and my making at my website: http://amyloustein.com/

One of the videos I did wardrobe for: Sexx Laws by Beck

 

Leave a Reply

