Artist Profile: Carolee Withee

Carolee Withee joins our Fiber College community this year to teach shuttle tatting on Friday afternoon. Tatting is one of several fiber arts that is enjoying an enthusiastic renaissance. Do you remember sitting at your grandmother’s knee watching her tatting shuttle fly? Or maybe you remember running your fingers over the beautiful pillowcase edgings or the exquisite table runner at the Thanksgiving table.  How wonderful that Fiber College is offering an opportunity for us to learn this beautiful fiber art! Let’s meet Carolee.

Samples of tatting thread

Samples of tatting thread

As a retired school teacher, I am confident that I can teach beginning tatting skills to students.   I have also taught aspects of quilting at quilting chapters.

Carolee Withee, tatting instructor at FC 2015

Carolee Withee, tatting instructor at FC 2015

I do tatting as only one aspect of mixed media art quilts for my own use.

Another sample of Carolee's beautiful tatting.

Another sample of Carolee’s beautiful tatting.

I use my tatted motifs and laces to embellish the patches and seams in my Crazy Quilts.

Carolee embellishes her crazy quilts with tatted motifs.

Carolee embellishes her crazy quilts with tatted motifs.

I have also used vintage tatted and crocheted pieces as the focus in wall hangings.

Carolee's tatted basket of flowers

Carolee’s tatted basket of flowers

I can remember watching my grandmother tatting; her fingers moving so fast and seemingly, without having to think about the pattern.  Over the years I tried several times to teach myself , but couldn’t make even one tatted ring before the thread would become knotted.

An antique tatting shuttle.

An antique tatting shuttle. Does this look like the one your grandmother used?

Learning the basic moves finally opened up the world of tatting to me.   My favorite wall hanging actually displays my grandmother’s shuttle.

A twist of the shuttle and a wrap of the thread...

A twist of the shuttle and a wrap of the thread…

Leave a Reply

