Artist Profile: Kris Weyrick-Scott

Many of us are still discovering the wide variety of fibers and tools that can inspire us to learn new techniques and create one-of-a-kind treasures. Kris Weyrick-Scott will share the art of sculpting with wool at this year’s Fiber College and we can’t wait to see the results. Her Needle-Felted Seahorse class is offered on Friday morning from 9-12. Let’s learn more about Kris.

Who are you? Tell us about your fiber journey.
Hello, my name is Kris and I’m a fiberholic from Nottingham, NH.   Seriously, I love wool in all its forms and textures. I’ve always be a “Maker” but it wasn’t until I discovered the sculptural qualities of wool that I became an “Artist.” It seems almost magical to me that, by matting some fibers together, a bird, or person, or even a mythical creature can come into being.

Trio of seahorses

Trio of seahorses

What’s integral to your work as an artist?
I wouldn’t be an Artist without the inspiration that I gather from the natural world. My favorite pieces are of birds and animals. I was brought up by a Forester Father and an Artistic Mother. My childhood was spent tromping the woods discovering the magic that surrounds us every day. A walk through a tree-lined path always recharges my creative juices.

Kris' crazy-hair seahorse

Kris’ crazy-hair seahorse

What’s your favorite piece of work that you have created?
My favorite piece of work is always the one I’m working on in that moment. (So as I write this, my favorite is the chickadee that I’m in the process of mounting on a piece of driftwood.) But, looking back on my works, I’m most proud of a ram mask that I made and that was later bought to be on permanent display at the Madison Museum of Fine Art in Madison, Georgia. It was one of those pieces that I hated to give up and probably wouldn’t have sold except for where it was going. I loved that they considered it Fine Art. There are times in our artistic lives that we need validation and that validation came when I most needed it.

Ram mask on permanent display at the Madison Museum of Fine Art in Madison, Georgia

Ram mask on permanent display at the Madison Museum of Fine Art in Madison, Georgia

What is your most important artist tool? Is there something you can’t live without in your studio?
Being a “Gadget Girl,” I love tools and have lots of them, but always end up using my favorite- a multi-needle felting tool my mother (a Wood Worker and Artist in her own right) made for me. It’s beautiful…hand turned from the yew bush that grows outside of the house where I grew up. Not only is it visually beautiful, but it works perfectly, fits perfectly in my hand, and I can feel her love and our connection with every use.

Kris' students learn to use wool fiber in new ways

Kris’ students learn to use wool fiber in new ways

What would your Fiber College students be surprised to know about you?
Last year, after experimenting with felting angora wool, I decided to get my own fiber rabbit. In came a beautiful black Satin Angora rabbit that my granddaughter named “Bun-buns.” I was planning to keep her outside in a nice hutch as a fiber animal, but she wormed her way into my family’s hearts and our home, and is now a very spoiled, free roaming, litter boxed trained, member of our household who lives for having her ears scratched and annoying my, rather put-out but patient, 15 year old dog.  It’s a good thing she excels at being a pet, because she has proven rather a disappointment in the fiber department and I am still buying my angora.

Kris with her Satin Angora rabbit, Bun-buns

Kris with her Satin Angora rabbit, Bun-buns

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
My High School Art Teacher, Mr. Childs, was instrumental in my artistic life. He was a painter, but encouraged us to find the medium that worked for us. Although it’s been 35 years since I took my last class with him, his voice runs through my head on a daily basis. “Kristen, know when to stop. You’re overthinking it. Walk away for a little bit.” I chuckle when I find his words coming out of my mouth while I’m teaching.

Beaded seahorses by Weyrick-Scott

Beaded seahorses by Weyrick-Scott

Leave a Reply

