Karen Koch Clears our Cobwebs

 

Karen Koch came into our world like a gentle whisper.  First there was the inquiry of our interest in adding broom making to the line up of FC classes.  For one reason or another we couldn’t “jump” on it until this year…but it’s wonderful to be able to add two classes of a different sort of fiber interest to this year’s line up.  Students will be using bundles of sweetly scented broom corn and sturdy alder handles, learning to transform them into a tool that’s been in the hands of humans for 1000’s of years…actually that would be a good trivia question…how long have humans been pushing a broom?

Karen will be teaching two classes this year…Traditional Cobweb Chasers Saturday 1:00-4:00 and Sunday Making a Whisk Broom 12:30-3:30.

In response to our questions, Karen tells us this about herself:

When I was 16, I wasn’t interested in getting my driver’s license! I had to be pushed.

My favorite time of the day is early morning.

My proudest career moment was being accepted to my first juried show in Camden, Maine in the late 80’s.

The book that changed my life was LOVE by Leo Buscaglia.  It set the tone for my special education career of 36 years.

My guiltiest pleasure is watching Doc Martin with Martin Clunes.

My favorite item of clothing is fleece pajamas.

I get nervous when I have to climb uphill.

The tool I couldn’t live without is my late father’s fishing knife.


Words to live by: It is more important to be kind than to be right.

I am happy in my garden, at the end of a broom class(seeing happy sweepers!),in or on the water and on my bike.

Favorite spots on the planet: Derwent Water in the Lake District(England), Cameron Mountain(Camden Hills) and Golden Hills State Park in Barker,NY.

I keep learning about different learning styles through my students.

I learned to make brooms from Carlson Tuttle at the Augusta Heritage Center at Davis-Elkins College in Elkins, West Virginia.

Leave a Reply

