Kristen Kapur will be in Searsport This Year!

Meet Kristen Kapur. She worked for many years as a fashion and then textile designer in NYC. She told us that designing knitting patterns allows her the opportunity to combine her love of garment construction and surface design…so we said please come and teach at Fiber College.  Not only are Kristen’s original designs ageless, but they’re fun…the sort of garments that look as good on the fresh faces of 16 year olds as they do on those of us who are hunting for our glasses in order to read a phone number.  Kristen’s designs have been published in Knitscene, Knit Simple, Knitty, Petite Purls, Sockupied, and St. Denis, as well as in the books Craft Activism, Brave New Knits, The Joy of Socks, Knit Local, Knitting it Old School, My Grandmother’s Knitting, and Weekend Hats

 

We’re excited to have her in Searsport and hope that it’s just the beginning of a long and delightful relationship.  You’ll find her teaching two classes this year, Knit it On (knit on borders and edges) Friday from 10-1 and Top Down Toppers, Saturday from 1-4.

 

We sent her a series of questions and this is what she tells us about herself…

 

When I was 16 I thought…That I could do anything I put my mind to. I was lucky enough to have parents who told me this and I believed them. This is still true. I love the challenge of learning new techniques and skills so that I can express my ideas. I look forward to learning new things from the students and other teachers at Fiber College.

 

My favorite time of the day is…Morning. I love getting up before everyone else in the house and having a little quiet time to knit.

 

Proudest career moment…I’m not sure that this could be termed the ‘proudest’, but it was definitely one of the most exciting – The Thorpe hat was the first design of mine that really caught on and was made by a lot of knitters. One day, not too long after I published the pattern I stepped onto the NYC subway and saw a man wearing my design. It was the first time I’d seen one of my designs “in the wild” and remains the most thrilling.

 

The song/book/movie that changed my life…I can’t say a song, book or movie actually changed my life, but there have been many that I could listen to/read/ watch again and again. Songs: two of my kids are musicians, so anything they write and perform brings me great joy, Book(s): Barbara Walker’s Stitch Dictionaries, The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo, Ferdinand the Bull by Munro Leaf (children’s book), Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer Movies: Being John Malkovich, The Princess Bride, Cinema Paradiso.

 

Guiltiest pleasure…Sweets – chocolate, pie, cookies.

 

My favorite item of clothing…Anything made from cashmere. Yum.

 

I still get nervous when…I have to speak in front of large groups of people. Once I get started I always calm down, but the anticipation and first few minutes really get to me.

 

Daily practice…Knitting, I’m not sure when the last day was that I didn’t knit at least a few stitches.

 

The art tool I couldn’t live without…My mind.

 

Words I live by…It’s only yarn, be fearless.

 

What makes me happy…My family, good friends, wool, a long hike in a beautiful place.

 

The lesson I keep learning…To have a sense of humor and enjoy life.

 

You can never have too many…Books, ideas, hugs.

 

Favorite spot on the planet…Upper Saranac Lake in the Adirondacks.

Whole living means…Living simply and treading lightly. Having respect for

oneself and the people and creatures who share your world.

 

 

Best,

Kirsten Kapur

Kristen will be teaching two classes this year: Knit it On, Friday 10-1 and Top Down Toppers, Saturday 1-4

Leave a Reply

