Beth Berman

I have no excuses for not knowing Beth better…she lives just up the road, and I’m certain that she’d be a fun friend.  Note to self: invite Beth for a cup of tea when the snow starts to fly.  In the meantime, she at taught Fiber College  last year and her students gave her rave reviews.  We’ve seen her silk screen and surface design work and it’s a wonderful combination of inspired and original.  Her blog , “sew sew art” is a generous source of information and we’re happy to know that she’ll be teaching a full day class on Thursday this year…Silk Screen: Construction and Uses

Here are the responses she gave us for her interview questions:

1. Presumably you’ve been an artist all your life…when and how did you decide to label yourself as one?

I have always know I was an artist. As a kid, I just said I liked to draw and crayon but later realized that if time and money were no object, I would spend all my time creating art of some sort.

2. If your life were a box of paints…would you be pastel colors, jewel tones, flesh tones or black, white and shades of grey?

I am definitely jewel tones especially blue, green, turquoise and purple. I love the cool colors of the natural world.

4. If you could have any mode of transportation in the world…how would you get from place to place?

Private jet, no contest.

6. Do you make a living with your art?

I am working with a Visioning Project this year developing ways to make a living from my art work both with gallery representation and teaching workshops. The first gallery I exhibited in this year sold one of my pieces opening night – the first piece sold. Very encouraging.

 What is your preferred environment when you’re in a creative mood?

Very early morning with not a peep in the house with nothing scheduled that day. Cool temps and on a roll.

If you were forced to give up your current artistic medium, what medium would you pursue next?

Acrylics. I started with pen and ink and oils. Then moved to acrylics in the 60’s. With acrylics I can lay down lots of color and marks in a short space in time. I’ve thought about it and I HAVE acrylics but I love the touch, feel, texture and dimension of fiber very much.

 Are you currently working in “the perfect” studio? What does your perfect creative space look like? What would we find in the drawers and cabinets?

I do have the perfect studio for me. I just need a built in organizational genie to put my materials away after each project. I MUST clean and organize my studio between projects or the mess is too discordant and I can’t concentrate. I have so much in my studio, it would take hours to catalog it. No drawers just open shelves where things can be seen. All sorts of paints, metal, foils, tyvek, yarns, silk and wool roving, hand dyed scrims ,burlap, felted wool,.white good to dye and professional photography equipment to photograph my work.

With the tap of a magic wand, you can go anywhere and study with anyone…time is of no essence…what are you doing and with whom?

Jane Dunnewold, Linda and Laura Kemshall, or Kerr Grabowski. I’m flexible (smile)

 How many projects do you generally have going at one time?

I work on one project at a time and finish it. I also have a “hand work” project to work on while relaxing and watching a movie at night. If the muse leaves me when I have a piece in process, I make beads, create tyvek painted elements or dye fabric. It not only keeps me busy but ususally jump starts the creative juices.

One thought on “Beth Berman

  1. I’m taking Beth’s class and I’m ’bout ready to burst. I’m bringing my sewing machine and serger in hopes of stitching up a skirt or two with whatever I print.

Leave a Reply

