Laurie Sims

Laurie is like a diamond…her sparkling facets burst into being when turned towards the right light.  She crochets and embroiders…and dances and brings people together like ingredients on an extensive menu…just when you think that you know Laurie, she’ll surprise you with an obscure fact or an interesting quote that leads the conversation into a completely different realm from where it began.

You may know Laurie from her crochet clinics and classes at past Fiber Colleges or perhaps you’ve seen her working at a Fiber Festival with Nanne or Susie.  Of course she was the artist in residence at Searsport Shores earlier this year where she designed and created the Bohemian Artist’s Shelter featured in the Art Studio.  This year she’ll be teaching Crochet Edging for Fiber Artists on Friday afternoon and Kneedlepoint on Sunday afternoon.

We asked her to answer our interview questions to give you a peak into her mind…this is what she had to share:

Presumably you’ve been an artist all your life…when and how did you decide to label yourself as one?

Although “I’m a fiber artist” rolls off my tongue easily these days, I spent much of my life a “just a crafter” because my corporate careers left little time for my brain, my fingers and my ego to do much art. In the last ten years I’ve been pushing the “job” stuff aside to find my artistic niche and voice and boy it feels great!

If your life were a box of paints…would you be pastel colors, jewel tones, flesh tones or black, white and shades of gray?

Definitely jewel tones!

Tell us about your first attempts to be creative.

I have embroideries from when I was quite small. Taught myself crochet when my mother (and I) got frustrated with my knitting. I sewed, Icooked, I was always re-arranging my things and doodling in my school books. I guess I can’t remember a time when my brain wasn’t creating something.

If you could have any mode of transportation in the world…how would you get from place to place?

Tardis

What is your favorite art related book?

For crochet and embroidery I use books of patterns more than project books. For pure enjoyment I love big folio books of reproductions and the catalogs of big museum shows of any medium.

Do you make a living with your art?

Not yet.

What is your preferred environment when you’re in a creative mood?

I’ve found I have a great ability to block-out the world around me. What I most want when I’m on a creative streak is for someone to feed me and the cats, answer the phone and emails, do the laundry, clean house, tend to the yard and car, yadda, yadda, yadda.

If you were forced to give up your current artistic medium, what medium would you pursue next?

Glass, paint, food, paper, wood, trees, grass, …

Name five adjectives that best describe you at your best.

creative, talented, creative, fun, a good teacher, and did I say creative?

When was the last time you laughed at yourself?

Daily

How many projects do you generally have going at one time?

Innumerable

You can find Laurie on Facebook and soon a Google search will reveal her new website.

Leave a Reply

