Janet Doyle

I don’t know Janet yet…but I WANT TO!  Look at the way she plays with color and bold design! For now let’s just say that I have a little artist’s crush going on…I mean look at these amazing images.  And she’s willing to come away from her Rhode Island world to help weavers improve their drafting skills up here on the Maine coast

…my goodness, her work is as spectacular as any I’ve seen in the finest art magazines…I can’t wait to actually spend time with her in September.  I’m hoping that she’ll be at our Thursday night cocktail party and that she’ll be so in love with our Bohemian Rhapsody Artist’s shelter that she’ll agree to spend a week at Searsport Shores next year as an artist in residence…yup, it’s a real crush 😉  The garments are wonderful but the pterodactyl trapped me for good:)

In order to learn more about Janet, we asked her to answer a series of interview questions, this is what she said:

Tell us about your first attempts to be creative.

When I was 3 years old I lived in a small gray cottage that was painted yearly and its gardens kept in a pristine manner. I knew even then that I would always hate bland gray. So when a sizable load of fresh cow manure was delivered early one spring, I believe I had my first truly creative moment. House painters had just finished applying a fresh coat of GRAY oil base paint when something in my little mind thought that flinging manure with a spoon against the back of the house would add just the right addition to the design. I spent hours flinging and admiring my work. To my amazement my Picasso-esque creation brought really bad reviews and a trip to the dreaded corner.

Do you make a living with your art?

If one doesn’t consider money the only way to make a living, I make  a living as an artist my career. I am the artist director of the Carolina Fiber and Fiction Center in Richmond RI and teach in the Textile Department at the University of Rhode Island and I just developed the curriculum for a Master Weaver program for URI. My work is currently represented by the Charlestown Art Gallery in RI. There I sell my weavings and make connections for potential commissions.

What is your preferred environment when you’re in a creative mood?

I love to be in the company of other artists when I am in a creative frenzy. I have several friends that can ratchet up the creative moment just by their presence. For several years a group of former students, other weavers, spinners, and knitting friends have met each week and shared ideas, problems and life’s journeys..this times have sparked my best creative moments.

What do you wish you could do?

I wish I could find more time. I have a million ideas and only 24 hours in a day. So frustrating.

If you were forced to give up your current artistic medium, what medium would you pursue next?

I think I am a frustrated painter. I have mulled over the idea of incorporating weaving into paintings.

Name five adjectives that best describe you at your best:

Funny, self-deprecating , inspiring, encouraging and understood

With the tap of a magic wand, you can go anywhere and study with anyone…time is of no essence…what are you doing and with whom?

I so want to work with Ru Paul on his show Drag Race. My woven costume ideas and his wonderful contestants would bring my creative process to a new level.

When was the last time you laughed at yourself?

It must have been this morning!..I looked in the mirror and that funny looking person was looking back

How many projects do you generally have going at one time?

I don’t know!  They are all over the studio and house. Some have become interior designs all entitled “work in process”  maybe some will end up being call that

I have a Facebook page with screen name vavlkyrie and I appear on the Carolina Fiber and Fiction facebook page as well as the University of Rhode Island Department of Textiles, Fashion Merchandising and Design.

Leave a Reply

