Davis Harriman~plays with colorful string!

Davis joined us last year with an exciting vendor booth…and the whispers around Fiber College could be heard everywhere…who’s the handsome man over on the right?  have you seen his whimsical hooking?  did you hear him explain the technique?  Yeah, Davis caused quite a stir…so this year he’s teaching two classes: Fun with yarn: Rug Hooking Punch Needle and Miniature Punch Needle Embroidery.

We asked him to answer our interview questions and in between his busy craft show schedule, he sent us this:

1. The unauthorized biography of your life is titled: A Journey In Progress

2. If forced to choose, would you be an eraser or a permanent magic marker? Hard question. At times I would like to be an eraser to help get rid of prejudice and other ugliness. At other times I might like to be a marker to create useful and pleasant things.

3. Do you live with any animals? Not at this time. I love to raise turkeys but I’m on the road too much at present.

4. What are you currently reading? The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch, Punchneedle Rug Hooking by Amy Oxford, and several others.

5. What is the most surprising response to your art you have ever received? That someone would think my work was good enough to buy.

6. How do you know when your work is done? When the last stitch is in.

7. What do you listen to while you create? Occasionally TV, but usually nothing.

8. Why do you (knit, quilt, spin, carve, design…)? What is your purpose? I find handwork peaceful and fulfilling.

9. What do you know that you don’t know? I know that there is far more that I don’t know than what I do, but I am a lifelong learner and am continually chipping away at the “I don’t knows”.

10. How does, or should, the word “passion” relate to an artist? Passion, as related to any art form is almost a necessity. There is often a lot of hard work involved and few would do it if they didn’t love it.

11. Looking back, knowing what you know now, is there anything that you would do differently? I would have started earlier and studied harder.

12. A lot of artists want to be famous, and some just want to make a living doing what they love. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? I’m just trying to enjoy today and pass on my craft to others who will hopefully carry on in the future. Five years is too far away to speculate on.

13. If you could give advice to anyone aspiring to work with fibers, what would it be? Learn all you can. Know your craft – from the field to the finished creation.

14. When it’s time to “tap” your creativity…where do you go to get the juices flowing? I keep a pen and paper with me at all times. Inspiration comes at surprising times. My favorite quote on inspiration comes from Will of the group Black Eyed Peas; “When inspiration calls you, pick up the phone and give it directions to your house.”

15. How many projects do you generally have going at one time? Too many to count. I’m often a great starter, but unfortunately a rather poor finisher.

Published by

Astrig

I live, love and work at our family campground in Midcoast Maine. Interesting people come and go all summer long...it's a nearly perfect life filled with tidepools, gardens, goats and honeybees

One thought on “Davis Harriman~plays with colorful string!”

  1. I was Ministered to by Davis Harriman in Teenchallenge Sanford Florida, 2001. He gave me a Gift from God. I’d like to one day Thank Him in person. I’m Living in Long Island NY now and doing well in this life thanks to God, and Davis.

Leave a comment