Linda Scharf…Goddess of silk, wool and pretty string

Linda is elegant.  The string she makes vibrates with color, energy and creativity.  She is the muse who whispers into your ear…try it…do it…enjoy it…

We’ve had the pleasure of inviting Linda to teach at Fiber College for three years.  She inspires all who take her classes and is one of those special artists who combines technical skill with artistic vision…and she shares!  She’ll be teaching Spinning Silk on a Spindle and The Textility of the Fiber College Environs…I hope that you can join her for one or both classes.

You’ll find her on Ravelry as StoneLeafMoon, read musings on her blog and can see more of her work on her website  www.stoneleafmoon.com

She told us this during our interview:

1. The unauthorized biography of your life is titled:

Hmmmm…The Hairy Hermit? 😉

2. Do you live with any animals?

I do live with animals! A family of feral cats adopted us many years

ago. We’ve watched them grow from tiny creatures who surprised us when

we opened the silverware drawer – they had crawled into the back of it

by sneaking into the kitchen cabinets – to some fine little friends who

keep us posted on all things nature.

3. What are you currently reading?

I read “Eat, Pray, Love” awhile back and really enjoyed it, so am

reading “Committed” by the same author. Both are sort of

spiritual/personal memoirs of a woman in current times. I always have a

variety of textile and history books going, as well. I love getting all

the different perspectives on various historical times. Reading from as

many perspectives as possible fills in the big blanks that have been

left from school’s version of history.

4. How do you know when your work is done?

Thinking about a response to this question makes me go back to the

beginnings of work. So many ways to begin – sometimes one just begins

wandering/playing…when I do that kind of creating, I think there

comes a moment when I say, I’ve learned what I need to know/grokked

what it can give me. Usually, the project offers a kind of delight or

makes me smile inside. Other times, there’s at least some aspect of

what I’m trying to learn that I sort of know. It’s like a seed, and

contained within that seed is the fruit that can only come from that.

So it clicks when it’s “finished”. Here is the unique fruit that must

come from that seed. In teaching and learning, I think one of the

really fun parts is to figure out what gets a person or process started

easily. Then the doing is a motivated by curiosity and a sense of

discovery that keeps it all alive.

5. What do you listen to while you create?

Mostly the sounds inside my brain and/or nature sounds that filter

through. Sometimes I’ll be in the mood for music, but I really prefer

silence most of the time.

6. Why do you (knit, quilt, spin, carve, design…)? What is

your purpose?

Creating, teaching and learning all give me a lot of joy. I think it

makes the world a more peaceful place when more of us experience joy,

and that’s the state I love to see and be in.

7. If you could give advice to anyone aspiring to work with fibers,

what would it be?

Listen and be fearless~

8. When it’s time to tap into your creativity; where do you go to get the juices flowing?

I dive deep into myself. I feel like the whole world is in there and

all I have to do is listen and be present to allow creativity to unfold.

9. How many projects do you generally have going at one time?

Many!! There are alwyas spindle projects, a couple of weaving things,

some writing. Works for me!

Leave a Reply

