Are Seed Beads Your Thing?

Finding interesting beading classes can be a challenge…There are three fantastic artists offering classes in seed beads, raku beads and paper beads at the College this year.  The seed bead category is being filled by the well known artist Jeannette Cook of the Beady Eyed Woman…this creative lady comes to us from the other Coast…California.

Bead artist extraordinaire

Bead artist extraordinaire

Seemingly always on the road, we were happy that she found time from her travels to send us these  answers to our interview questions just before she begins her travels to New England.  Her work is original, beautifully executed and exciting.

We know that interest in textiles and fibers evolve over time. What is your current passion?  Did you start directly with this form of the art or did you progress through a series of interests?

**I have always loved beads and fibers. I have started very early and used to hand sew clothing and bead it
when I was a teenager. Then I got a sewing machine! I have worked with leather, fabric, ribbon, yarns, and in recent years played with felting, wet and needle.
I always go back to beads, though. They are my first love. I like to combine fabric and beads.

You can learn to master the curl too!

You can learn to master the curl too!

What or who fired your initial flames of artistry? **I have been drawn to all kinds of art since childhood. The 1960’s got me into beads and making clothing.


Where do you find your inspiration?
**Travel, gardens, museums, children’s paintings. Everywhere. Ideas just pop into my head, or sometimes, in a dream.
What’s your biggest challenge?  Time, studio space, money, recognition? **Time!!! I have so many ideas and I travel a lot to teach as well as put together kits and instructions to sell on my website. Time is absolutely it! I did have space problems until we built a sun room last year. Now I have glorious, well lit space.   Woooo Hoooo!
What’s the biggest payoff? ** Getting to do what I love for a living and buying and playing with beads.

Charming...available in class form ;)

Charming...available in class form 😉

Emotions are a major driver of our passions, does your art make you satisfied from the moment you start or are there moments of anxiety as the process evolves; do you see the finished product differently as time passes?   **I am all excited as I see a piece evolve. Some custom orders start out a bit challenging, but if I just plow right in and start working, I end up loving what I am doing. Custom orders have made me stretch a lot and I am grateful for them. I prefer doing my own thing, though.
What best describes your personal learning style?  Your personal teaching style? **I am a sponge and love learning new things. My personal teaching style/motto is: Let’s not get too serious here! We will learn new things, play with beautiful materials, create a lovely thing to wear and laugh and talk together in the classroom…while we work, of course.


What would a perfect fiber shop look like? Do you have any favorite haunts that come close?
**It would have fabric, yarn, roving and beads.
How will those who wander through the Fiber College grounds best recognize you? **I have a fuchsia streak in my hair behind my right ear and I will be smiling and wearing my beadwork.
In a perfect world, how would you spend your time?  Where would your passions take you if there were no restraints? **I would travel more while beading and teaching and taking classes. Worldwide travel is on the list. I have already gone to Japan and Ireland to teach. I have a lot of ground to cover. I would have no financial worries to make me think twice about going or getting the supplies I need.

Leave a Reply

